About

DIETEGEN 2019

The year 2019 will be the 200th anniversary of Gottfried Keller’s birth. Keller is the most important Swiss German writer of the 19th century. He lived and worked mainly in Zurich. 

 

Keller’s novel DIETEGEN is less known, maybe because its subject is neither romantic, nor heroic. But it seems to be one of the most contemporary (or timeless) stories he wrote. 

 

We transfer its plot into the future, into a world after the ecological collapse. The self-justice of mafia gangs is ruling even in Switzerland, and the hero is a young gunslinger, an ego shooter and a killer in fact. He and his girl, his stepsister, do not love each other, but they stay together. Visions of freedom or love, which are the occasion for operatic arias do not exist. 

 

Usually, an opera is a well-defined work, set up to the smallest musical detail. Its performance consists of a faithfully interpreted score.  Only the staging has an extended freedom today, and the singers, the chorus, the ballet and the orchestra are groups of highly specialised artists. 

 

In contrast, we produce an opera without sheet music.  Larger parts of it are improvised. We are working with a company that is not divided into groups with specific functions. There is an ensemble similar to the chorus in Greek tragedy, being the choir, the orchestra and the ballet at the same time, commenting on the events via their mobile phone screens. The smart phone is the stage character's means of communication, and it is our main musical instrument at the same time. 

LEADING TEAM

Music and Musical Conception: Bruno Spoerri

Bruno is a pioneer of Swiss Electronical Music, computer music and jazz. He has contributed music to numerous audiovisual productions, from commercials to movies up to experimental films. In 2015, the Rapper Jay Z used one of Bruno’s compositions but admitted this plagiarism. In 2017, Bruno was honoured with the Swiss Jazz Award.  

Production and Direction: Mathias Spohr  

After a training as actor, composer and musicologist, he continued his formation as theatre and media scientist and became an opera expert. He worked as author, editor, dramaturg, producer and director in various music theater productions. Furthermore, Mathias led the Bern Drama School’s degree programme.

Cinematics: Ivan Engler

After studies of filmmaking at the School of Art and Design Zurich, and activities as Visual Jockey, he founded his own film production company. His films „Nomina Domini“ (2000) and „Cargo“ attracted international attention. www.visualscience.net

CONTACT

LEADING TEAM

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grau Icon Instagram
200J_AEGK_frame.png

© Project Dietegen 2018 Zurich | Privacy policy

Über uns

DIETEGEN 2019

2019 jährt sich der 200. Geburtstag von Gottfried Keller, des bedeutendsten Deutschschweizer Schriftstellers des 19. Jahrhunderts, der in Zürich lebte und arbeitete. Kellers Novelle DIETEGEN ist weniger bekannt, möglicherweise weil ihr Stoff sich nicht romantisch oder heroisch verklären lässt. Gerade deshalb handelt es sich um eine seiner aktuellsten und zeitlosesten Erzählungen. 

Also versetzen wir die Handlung in die Zukunft, in eine Welt nach dem ökologischen Kollaps. Warlords, Gangs und Selbstjustiz regieren sogar in der Schweiz.

 

Die Hauptfigur ist ein junger Revolverheld: ein Auftragskiller, dessen Alltag einem Egoshooter gleicht. Er und seine Braut, zugleich seine Stiefschwester, lieben sich nicht, aber sie bleiben zusammen. Die Umstände verlangen es. Ausbruchsversuche werden von der Realität des Lebens gnadenlos sanktioniert. Intimität zwischen den beiden ist von der Gewalt ihrer Umgebung geprägt.

 

Traumvorstellungen von Freiheit und Liebe, die Stoff für Opernarien bieten, haben hier keinen Platz. 

 

Aus dem über 150 Jahre alten Werk soll eine zeitgenössische multimediale «Oper» entstehen. Im Gegensatz zu einer herkömmlichen Oper verzichten wir auf eine strikte Partitur und überlassen grössere Teile des Stücks der Improvisation. 

Wir arbeiten mit einem Ensemble, das sich nicht in Gruppen mit bestimmten Funktionen teilt, sondern vielmehr einen Chor wie in der griechischen Tragödie bildet: Es ist gleichermassen ein Opernchor, ein Orchester und ein Ballett, und es kommentiert das Geschehen, das sich auf seinen Handy-Bildschirmen abspielt. Das Smartphone ist das Kommunikationsmittel der Theaterfiguren und zugleich unser hauptsächliches Musikinstrument. 

LEADING TEAM

Bruno Spoerri (Musik und musikalische Konzeption) ist ein Pionier der Schweizer Elektronischen Musik, der Computermusik und der Jazzmusik und hat zahlreiche audiovisuelle Produktionen mit Musik versehen, vom Werbefilm über den Spielfilm bis zum Experimentalfilm. Der Rapper Jay Z verwendete 2015 ein Stück von ihm und gestand das Plagiat ein. 2017 wurde Spoerri mit dem Swiss Jazz Award ausgezeichnet. www.computerjazz.ch

Mathias Spohr  (Produktion und Regie) betätigte sich nach seiner Ausbildung als Schauspieler, Komponist, Musik- und Theaterwissenschaftler als Medienwissenschaftler und Opernforscher, kreierte musiktheatralische Projekte als Autor, Herausgeber, Dramaturg, Darsteller, Produzent oder Regisseur und war eine Zeitlang Studiengangsleiter an der Berner Schauspielschule. 

Ivan Engler (Filmsequenzen) studierte an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Zürich Filmgestaltung, war als Visual Jockey aktiv und hat eine Filmproduktionsfirma gegründet. Seine Filme Nomina Domini (2000) sowie Cargo (2009) fanden internationale Beachtung. www.visualscience.net

KONTAKT

LEADING TEAM

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grau Icon Instagram

Danke!

Verein «200 Jahre Alfred Escher und Gottfried Keller», Hannes Glarner, Dietegen Müller.

200J_AEGK_frame.png

© Projekt Dietegen 2018  Zürich | Datenschutz